Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2001-10-24 - 9:03 p.m.

WHY LEX IS SEXIER THAN CLARK
A Short Essay on The WB's Smallville


For those of you who have been asleep since the 1930's, when Superman first appeared as a comic book character, let me bring you up to speed with a few generalizations:

1. Lex Luthor is Superman's arch-enemy.

2. Clark Kent is Superman's alter ego.

3. Smallville takes place while Clark Kent is still in high school in Kansas. He knows he's something different, but hasn't donned his Superman persona yet.

4. Lex is a semi-spoiled rich kid who wants to be Clark's friend (currently, anyway).

Posit: Lex is sexier than Clark.

Granted, Clark has more modelish good looks, but he's too generic for my taste. Get that, guys? Many of us would rather date people who don't really look like anybody else.

Now, there will probably be a lot of guys out there who will say, "Sure, you'd rather date Lex because he's a bad guy, and bad guys always get the girl *bitch* *bitch* *whine*."

Bull.

Let me tell you guys something, the good girls don't always get the guys any more than the good guys always get the girls.

But it's not because of goodness or badness, so I don't want to hear that.

In this case, and in most cases, I believe it's because the so-called "bad guy" has a much greater sense of self than the "good guy." Knowing who you are and having a personality is sexy. It just is.

Now, if Lex turns really bad, I won't like him anymore, or if he does something awful like kill a puppy, I'll wish him dead. But so far all he's done is display a greater amount of personality than Clark.

Don't get me wrong. I don't want to date a guy just for his sense of self, but confidence in who you are (not to be mistaken for jerkiness or cockiness) is a definite plus.

If you don't have any clue who you are, you have zero business dating or moping about being unable to get a date. You need to get out there and figure out who the hell you are, what you are like and what you do like. I know because I went through this. I was in a relationship and I had no business being in one. Fortunately, due to job circumstances, I was able to spend four months physically apart from that boyfriend while we were still dating. I returned with a much more well-defined sense of who I was, and I was able to identify my needs much better.

Again, please don't misinterpret this as "introspection is bad" or "you should never change or adapt your personality." That's not my point. But you have to know who you are. Don't make apologies for it. Just be yourself and be good at it. Then you'll be like Lex.

TRQ

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland