Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-04-18 - 3:34 p.m.

I fear that I am not myself these days
For all I know, I might be
you.
There's more than room enough for two
Inside my mind.


I am likewise in a haze of who I am
From scene to scene;
What's more,
We two, (we four, I mean)
Are in a bind!


For is it I or is it me?

And if I'm him
And if I'm he,
Each one of us might not
Agree on what to do.


And if I take opposing sides within myself,
Then who divides up what is right or wrong?


I'll go along with you.

Ha'penny, one penny, tuppenny, thruppenny
Twelve to a shilling, twice that to a florin
And would you not fancy the currency foreign
To find the same face on both sides of the coin?
Bob is your uncle from pennies to guineas,
The two-sided mint is the rule, not exception,
And would you not quite feel quite the fool of deception
To find the same face on both sides of the coin?


Odds or evens, it's high or low
It's up or down or night


Heads or tails, or black and white,
Or left and right or day!


Nature seldom ever fails to most obligingly provide
An undisclosed opposing side to one's dismay.


There's shadows on this shining morn,

If there's a rose it bears a thorn,

You're as good as dead as soon as born,

And yet we smile!

But luck's division is perverse

It seems to work more in reverse

If things are better, they'll be worse in just a while!

Ha'penny, one penny, tuppenny, thruppenny
Twelve to a shilling, twice that to a florin
And would you not fancy the currency foreign
To find the same face on both sides of the coin?
Bob is your uncle from pennies to guineas,
The two-sided mint is the rule, not exception,
And would you not quite feel quite the fool of deception
To find the same face on both sides of the coin?


--"Both Sides of the Coin" from The Mystery of Edwin Drood

Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland