Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-05-14 - 12:14 p.m.

I was just in a world of physical pain last week, but it was all in a good cause. Wednesday evening was our last softball game of the season.

The weather was blazing hot and the game began at 6:30 PM. I thought I�d be safe with the SPF issue, but the UV index here in Orlando was at �10+ Extreme� all day and when I got out to the field at 6, I could feel my skin doing a light fry-and-freckle.

Oh, well, it�s only one night. At least I had remembered my proper running shoes and my nifty mitt. Mike told me I would be catching for the entire game, though I�d only been the relief catcher for the first game I�d played. Oof. Of course, catching isn�t a terribly difficult job for a normal person, but since I have really low blood pressure, the up-and-down of the job makes me pretty light-headed. Still, it was the best place for me as I could cause the smallest amount of damage when we were playing defense.

My first time at bat, I noticed that not only was the opposing team�s pitcher an extremely saucy and somewhat unpleasant young man, he also couldn�t pitch for beans. His throws were all over the place. I stood back, got only one strike, and took my walk. Much safer for me. Whee! Made it to first! On the next batter, I got to second, and on the next, to third base. This is a very big deal for me. I couldn�t remember the last time in my life I�d been at third base (and I�m speaking strictly in the sport sense, no innuendoes, please). Unfortunately, just before I could score a run, the next batter popped out and that ended the inning. Oh, well, I did help drive in a couple of runs!

Back in the bunker, I mean dugout, after my next catching phase, I announced to my team that the opposing team�s pitcher was a saucy fellow and needed to be taught a lesson. After all, when I'd been on second earlier in the game, he yelled to his team, "Runners on first and second, easiest bases!"

"Who are you calling easy?" I bellowed back at him.

Anyway, we scored a lot of runs by ignoring his pitches and taking the walks. I nicknamed the pitcher "Butterfly Boy" for the way he sort of unfurled his pitches, and it stuck.

We were in the lead going into the last inning and we ended up tying the game, 17-17. Know what that means? We didn�t lose! Do you know how long it�s been since I�ve played in a sports match where my team didn�t lose? WOW.

Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland