Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-06-20 - 4:46 p.m.

It's pretty cold in here. Of course, people start going home in droves after 3:30 and so by now it's pretty quiet as well.

Here is an excerpt from one of my call logs today: "Also cannot check to see if his exchange server is correct as computer says there is not enough memory to open his mail icon in Control Panel. Tried to have client close all programs, but he stated that he did not know how and that he had never closed a program in Windows. Tried to have client use X to close program, but he said email was finally working now."

I left out the beginning of the conversation.

"OK, please go to Start, then Settings, then Control Panel."

"I don't have a control panel here."

"Do you have a Start button?"

"I don't know what you mean."

"At the bottom left of your screen, is there something that says Start?"

"I don't know what you are talking about."

"Are you running Microsoft Windows?"

"Yes."

"OK, do you have a Start button, a place you begin from, to open programs and ..."

"Oh, this thing. OK, I clicked Start. Now what?"

"Settings?"

"I click that?"

"Yes, please."

"Nothing happened."

"Did a menu open to the right?"

"Well, yeah."

"OK, Control Panel?"

And so it went. And no, he never did figure out how to close a program in Windows.

Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland