Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-11-18 - 2:14 p.m.

This weekend was lots of fun. So much happened! Friday I got out of work on time, which is amazing in and of itself. Will and I jetted over to the mall on Colonial in order to get me a new bra. Yes, I have finally outgrown all my bras. Not the number part, the letter part. My breasts are growing again. I got a triple-D bra which was the biggest cup size they have. I want to know where this will end. I thought DD was adequate but I guess they were like "Hey, it's been twelve years, it's time to grow again!" What?

Anyway, so we got that taken care of and then went back to my place to pack up a bunch of supplies for Birthday Party Extravaganza. We took them up to Will's apartment and decorated (well, I decorated) with red and gold cr�pe paper for Gryffindor.

Saturday, it rained all day. We finally got up around one after a great deal of lying about and a good bit of shagging. We finished the party preparations and around 4:45 took off for P.F. Chang's, where we had arranged to have dinner for the two of us pre-birthday party. As always, the food was great. We made our way over to the movie theater where I put my credit card into the Fandango machine and it shot our tickets out halfway across the room! OK, I exaggerate, but there was quite a bit of power behind that thing!

Then, Will retrieved his phone messages and discovered that Kim and George were having a beer in a nearby restaurant so we joined them for a bit.

When the beers were finished, we walked back to the theater and all of us but Will went in to try to get a place in line for saving seats. Will stayed outside, ostensibly to wait for people but also to have a cigarette or so. We collected names of about thirteen people from our group that were planning on being there, but only five of us were in line so we had to rush in to save a whole row. Since it was only the second day that Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was out, there was a huge crowd and I felt very guilty trying to save an entire row. However, we managed it without disappointing too many people. We did fill a whole row and had about seven people in auxiliary positions throughout the theater.

The crowd applauded as the Warner Brothers' logo came on the screen. "What a brave corporate logo," muttered George, but I think they were applauding the first strains of John Williams' unmistakable score. At least, I was.

The movie opens on an aerial shot of Little Whinging, Surrey, where Harry lives with his relatives the Dursleys. I was laughing my ass off because the rows of houses were all the same. It totally outdid the last movie in illustrating the conformity of life amongst Muggles.

I loved the movie. The only complaint I had about it, and it was a very small one, was during the duel between Harry and Malfoy, they used the same spell names that they did in the book, like Expelliarmus, Tarantallegra, and Rictusempra, but instead of doing the funny things they did in the books, which made sense and went with their names, they all did the same thing. Now, I can understand wanting to have a more violent, rather than funny, wizard's duel for cinematic reasons, but why mess up those spells? Why not create new ones like Stevenseagalia?

Anyway, the film was good and I enjoyed the little vignette at the end of the credits as well. Nice touch. We'll be seeing that movie again soon. Will and I dashed home to open the apartment and get out the refrigerated refreshments. We were totally set up at that party. We had five kinds of crackers, three kinds of cheese, olives, almonds, jellybeans, and lots of liquor including red wine, port, champagne, vodka, whiskey, beer, and a Turkish liqueur Will had specially requested (and I had specially ordered online) called Raki. (Actually, it is supposed to have no dot on the I but when I put that character in it changes it to a Y with an acute accent on it). I really enjoyed the Raki. I thought I would just try it for culture's sake but it was awesome.

Will told me a girl told him that his Raki "looked like jizz." I told him he should have said "You're a very focused woman," and gone back to his conversation. ;)

The partygoers mixed pretty well. Most already knew each other but I had also invited Jen from work. She seemed to be enjoying the party and even asked John for a tour of the apartment's artwork (which is certainly singular). Will opened his presents late in the evening and got a little Yukon Cornelius figure from Kim and George (in honor of our kittycat, Yukon Cornelius, whom we adopted from Kim and George) and the complete set of Star Trek: The Next Generation DVDs from the first season.

So we all got a bit drunk and the evening passed pleasantly enough. More later.

Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland