Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2005-03-12 - 9:05 a.m.

Right now I'm in class, and we're watching that video on Southwest Airlines about how the company makes itself a great place to work.

I've seen this video once before, while working at the helpdesk. They showed it to us there but did not implement any of the suggestions from the video to make the helpdesk a better place to work. Instead, we were given to understand that as helpdesk employees, we were not only supposed to take every single bit of anger the other employees direct our way, we are also supposed to make the company a better place to work for them. So not only is nothing done for our peace of mind or enjoyment, but we are basically in charge of the employee motivation for everyone else in the company.

Incidentally, I return to work on Monday. I could have taken twelve weeks instead of six, but I wouldn't have been paid for the final six. Six weeks ought to be all I need to spend with my son, right? I guess I'll see him again for his next birthday. Oh, no, wait, that'll be a Tuesday.

As I said before, my marketing rotation is over, because of my maternity leave. I have been rejected and thrown back to the helpdesk, where I will have a worse job than I did before at the helpdesk.

I will be working in the email and remote access queue. I hate remote access. I don't feel that I should have to help people set up their home networks.

I will be working 8 to 5 with no time to use my breast pump except at lunch so that will cut into my supply for my son even more--but who cares about babies' health versus the bottom line?

I also will not have the same schedule I had before, which was working 9 hours a day and getting every other Friday off. I guess they don't feel like letting me do that.

Welcome back to the helpdesk!

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland