Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2001-08-10 - 3:31 p.m.

I was glad to get this online diary, because I'm always sitting around or driving in the car and thinking up cool phrases, and thinking to myself, "Hey, I should write that down." So now I have this online diary, so I can forget what I think of as soon as I open the "Add an entry" page.

I really hate bait-and-switches, y'know. Well, maybe you didn't know before, but now you do. Two days ago, at work, I had been given a glimmer of hope that I might actually be able to have a life. I was offered the chance to switch my schedule from Tuesday through Saturday, 3 PM to midnight, to Sunday through Thursday, 7 AM to 4 PM. Granted, I didn't relish the thought of going to work quite that early, but nevertheless it was a definite improvement over my current schedule.

Then, yesterday, they said, "Oh, PSYCH! You don't get to switch after all! You have to keep on having no life! Is that not wonderful? Are we not magnanimous for giving you the suckiest schedule you've ever had working here? Oh, and by the way, you've worked here a year now--here's a KEYCHAIN!"

Now, if the work were intellectually stimulating, that'd be one thing. If I had a convenient work schedule, that'd be another thing. If I were adequately compensated for the work I do, that would be still another thing. But not to have any of these toys really sucks.

Cretins (work people): 1
Me: 0.

As a side note, why do so many stores and catalogs carry gold or silver earrings, which are good for those of us with nickel allergies, but then sell those earrings with backs made of nickel?

Cretins (work people and jewelry people): 2
Me: 0

I'm so confused.

Oh, and Kitty got "fixed" yesterday. She is now in the process of vigorously chewing her stitches out. We stop her doing it every time we catch her, but she is devious at hiding and chewing on them some more.

When Nick went to pick up Kitty from the vet, they told him they'd undercharged me for the process. I went in this morning to address this issue and also to retrieve Kitty's collar which they had neglected to return.

"How could this charge have been wrong when I specifically asked if it included the spay operation and the shot she got?" I asked.

The receptionist gave me a blank look. "Well, I told your boyfriend when he came in, it was a mistake."

Oh, that explains it all.

Cretins (work people and jewelry people and veterinary receptionist people): 3
Me: 0

TRQ


previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland