Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-02-28 - 8:47 a.m.

Speaking of cremation...

Well, you almost have to laugh at stories like these.

A couple weeks after Nick's father died, I was sitting on the bed at his mother's house, getting ready for work (we were staying there to keep her company) and Nick walked in with an Amazon.com-sized white box and handed it to me. "I'd like you to meet my father," he announced, with a rare (for then) smile. Heh.

My godfather died in 1999, and my godmother had him cremated. She keeps him under the bed in the spare room, because they planned to have their ashes combined and then scattered after both of them were gone. My godmother is legally blind and has a lot of trouble finding things, so when she loses something and can't find it, she goes into the spare room and asks her husband to help her find it, and she always walks straight to it. My godmother had a fairly strict Danish Lutheran upbringing, so she always looks a little guilty when she does this, as though she's dabbling in something she shouldn't, but she was so close to my godfather in life I can't see any harm in it, even for Lutherans.

My great-grandmother died last fall, after an extremely long life full of harassing all her many descendants. The nicest thing I can say about her is that she always knew what she didn't want. My grandmother had her cremated but does not know what to do with the ashes, so my great-grandmother currently resides in the trunk of my grandparents' car. I guess they are waiting for a good opportunity or location. :)

TRQ

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland