Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-03-28 - 10:18 a.m.

A city in Florida (I forget which one) has enacted a law saying that all new hires for the city must sign an affidavit stating that they have been tobacco-free for the past twelve months.

WHAT?

Now, I grant you, I'm not a huge fan of smoking, but I don't deny my own and others' rights to have one or two at a bar, for Pete's sake!

Yes, the city is saying that the aim is to save taxpayers' (meaning the city administrators' own salaries) money by reducing health care costs and to save money and time by eliminating smoke breaks (which personally tick me off--why should someone with a lame addiction get to take more breaks at work than I do simply because they have less willpower?).

Yes, the city is saying that employees who are current smokers will not be fired for their habit.

But it's still unfair. You know, I've read studies saying that left-handed people have more work-related injuries. Perhaps that city should hire only right-handed people or force them to change (Yes, I have been right-handed for the past twelve months) in order to "save money." I've read studies where they figured out how good or bad drivers were based on their astrological signs. It turns out that my sign, Pisces, were the worst drivers because they "tend to be daredevils." Perhaps the city should not hire me because of the date of my birth. After all, what has a perfect driving record got to do with the fact I was born between February 19 and March 22?

You can find a correlation between just about anything. That doesn't mean it is fair for you to use it. After all, left-handed people have more work-related accidents because the world is set up for right-handed people. Except in art class, of course, where all the scissors that remained were always left-handed.



Which Star-Crossed Marvel Lover Are You?

Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland