Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-06-19 - 9:59 a.m.

I've briefly discussed an ex named Tom in this journal before. Allow me to expound further.

Tom had ADD. I mean, he really did. It wasn't just his parents being unable to discipline him. I know he had ADD from firsthand experience.

He took Ritalin every day for this condition.

When I met him, he was quite a gentleman, and very exciting to date as well. He took me to nice places and treated me very well and seemed to want to spend every moment with me.

One day he decided that the Ritalin was changing his personality too much. He decided to stop taking it. I figured, he's over 18, it's his choice.

Immediately, a total personality change ensued. Gone was the nice guy I'd been dating, replaced with a guy who couldn't tear his eyes away from a movie or video game long enough to give me the time of day. Gone was the guy who was happy to spend time with me, replaced with a guy who was out all hours and never bothered to call or let me know what was up except for the one time he actually admitted to dating someone else...

Yeah, I guess Ritalin was changing him quite a bit. It was making him a tolerable human being. Sheesh.

After he stopped dating me, my friend John, who was rooming with Tom at the time, said that Tom's personality altered even further and he became just totally intolerable to live with.

What I was wondering was, did it have anything to do with me? Not his falling apart, no.

But several times I have dated guys who've told me variations on the theme of "I really like who I am when I'm with you." Then they proceed to do a Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde routine and hare off in totally the opposite direction.

Now, I am not a demanding person. I do require some attention when people are dating me, but I do not demand that people change to please me. I have never even asked anyone I've dated to stop smoking, let alone change what they might consider a vital part of their personality.

Yet dating me seems to affect some guys this way... they try to change, realize they can't, go back to being worse slobs or whores or whatever than they originally were, and blame me for "trying to change" them and tell their new significant others just how annoying it was to date me.

Do I sometimes pick the wrong people to date? Or is their assholiness not merely a symptom of dating me?

Confused,

Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland