Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-06-27 - 1:33 p.m.

This past weekend I did something that was a long time coming.

I dyed my hair back to its original color, a light brown.

It hasn't been that color since January 1998, when I bleached it in an ill-fated attempt to make my life more interesting.

That month, I had gotten back to Chicago to finish my degree after having spent a few months working at Disney World.

I returned to find a changed world. Many of my friends weren't really interested in hanging out anymore. The guy I was dating didn't really seem interested in me as anything more than a friend anymore. Things were getting really boring, so I bleached my hair.

It remained blonde with very slight red highlights until June 2000, when I decided I needed another change and went full-out red. That was fun for awhile, but I found that when my hair was red, I tended to attract some really weird types. There are plenty of people who like red hair, but the people who can't live without it, they are very frightening at times. Red really wasn't totally me.

So I went back to blonde last summer, but then I got tired of the pretense.

Damn it, I am not blonde and I haven't been since I was four. Blondes do have more fun but it's a kind of fun I can do without. It's a very superficial, fanboy-following sort of fun, rather than the kind I enjoy now.

I think Will is a big part of the reason I did it. I don't have to pretend anything with him. I don't have to try to be the coolest ever, or the most interesting girl in the world, because he makes me feel like I am that without any of these accessories.

So there you go. Hair's different now, and I'm not going to dye it again unless I get a Halloween impulse.


I just realized that the one-year anniversary of my Diaryland site has come and gone with no fanfare. Whew. I really do enjoy having this sort of regular catharsis. It helps me in the way that my radio show used to.

Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland