Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-08-05 - 9:18 a.m.

It's pretty cold in here on a Monday morning. I have my gloves on, which makes typing a little more difficult, but should prevent the capillaries in my hands from freezing up and locking the muscles in my hands, preventing me from driving home because I cannot grip the steering wheel due to the incredible level of pain.

I don't think Floridians realize how stupid it is to over-air-condition places.

Saturday I went to the mall to help Diana move her store. Unfortunately, while she was crawling around in the ceiling trying to set up her new store security system, there was a shout from the front of the store and Mel and Aleta announced that it was raining inside.

And it was. Dave showed up shortly thereafter and he and the rest of us spent a frenzied several minutes moving merchandise away from the front of the store, and locating buckets and things that could serve as buckets, such as plastic body forms that should be modeling shirts, and placing them around.

The new paint job on the walls blistered, sagged, and split as cascades of water ran down the walls. Drips appeared at ceiling tile junctures all over the front of the store and halfway to the back. Tracks of water vertically lined the parts of the store that hadn't been painted yet. The soaking-wet part of the carpet, starting at about one square foot, expanded at a visible rate until it covered an area about 15'x20'.

Will ran across the mall to Ritz Camera to get something we could record the damage with so she could file an insurance claim.

Her store wasn't the only one so hit but seemed to be the worst-hit. Even Victoria's Secret, on the first floor, was buzzing with activity as employees pushed merchandise away from problem areas of the building.

You'd think, since it's Florida, that people could build waterproof buildings, but you would be very wrong.

Poor Diana. She looked as though she were about to cry.

Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland