Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2004-01-17 - 9:04 a.m.

Well, we finally did get the house, and we get our keys on the 25th! So I am officially part of the American Dream. The best part will be getting out of this damn apartment complex. They are really getting irritating.

I have very sad news right now. My cat Cinnamon is very sick. We took her in to the vet yesterday because she has been losing weight and has not been eating.

I guess the light in our apartment is very dim because we didn't notice until we got her to the vet that this cat is bright yellow. She is so jaundiced and looks so sad.

I was able to get ahold of the vet this morning. From the blood tests, they found that the problem is definitely, and probably solely, her liver. There's four different numbers they look at for the liver and they were all significantly elevated, but her red & white blood cells are fine and her kidneys look fine.

So Will is taking her over to the vet to stay for probably four days. They are going to put her on an IV drip and do a bunch of other things, maybe antibiotics if it looks like she needs it.

They said based on her age that it was very unlikely that it was cancer. It's more likely that it is either hepatitis (just inflammation, not a virus) or something called "fatty liver" that cats get which I think is most likely. That is where the cat stops eating and so the body starts processing fat through the liver.

I am hoping that this vet stay will correct the temporary problem. Maybe a prescription food would take care of the rest.

Basically it could be just about anything right now and I really miss her already! :( We're just hoping it is not terminal.

The vet said he could do a biopsy but that 80% of the time it does not change the treatment options, so we are not doing that right now based on that fact and on her age.

Please keep Cinnamon in your thoughts. My little cat needs help!

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland