Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2001-12-30 - 1:42 p.m.

Sandhill cranes are odd birds. I've seen quite a few of them in the past week, as well. Last Monday morning, on my way to Grandma Lois and Grandpa Buzz's place, I saw a pair of them on a corner in the apartment complex, going at it.

Now, if you've never seen giant birds doing it, well, it's quite an experience! Ducks are low to the ground, and they do it crouched over, which makes sense. But the cranes! The female was standing straight up on her legs, and the male was perched on her back with his wings outstretched to their full span, flapping them to keep his balance. It looked ungainly, to say the least. I laughed for quite a while over that one, and the looks on the birds' faces when they realized my car was there.

But yesterday!

My other grandparents, who live on the west coast of the state, have a pair of visiting sandhill cranes every year. They have named them Reginald and Matilda. Reginald and Matilda are generally very well-behaved birds, but yesterday, Reginald discovered my car. He realized that the dark-green finish on my Saturn was extremely shiny, and that he could see--what was that?--ANOTHER MALE SANDHILL CRANE! Eek!

So what did the silly bird do?

HA!

He started pecking my damn car! Taptaptaptaptaptaptap! Taptaptaptaptap! Taptaptaptaptaptap!

It wasn't hurting the car, but I thought it was awfully funny. Keep in mind, these birds are well over four feet tall, so it's not as though it was a woodpecker. I started walking toward Reginald, and when I got about a foot away from him, he fixed me with a basilisk stare from his orange eyes and backed off the car and he and Matilda continued on down the street.

Five minutes later they were back, and Reginald had discovered that there was YET ANOTHER MALE SANDHILL CRANE, this time in the passenger side window of my dad's car!

We had to slowly herd them off again.

This morning, on the Lockheed Martin property, I saw two pairs of sandhill cranes. "Keep away from my car!" I told them.

:)

TRQ

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland