Diary of the Red Queen, Mama & Lunatic

Newest Entry
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001

Diaryrings

Guestbook

2002-06-03 - 12:33 p.m.

This weekend, I went up to Gainesville with Will to meet most of his family (actually, pretty much his mom's whole side). It sort of makes me wish I lived near some of my relatives.

I am pretty glad I live within a couple hours of each set of grandparents, but I don't live in the same time zone as any but 4 of my 25 cousins, and those 4 are in the DC area, so nowhere close. And living a couple hours away from your grandparents is a far cry from pretty much being able to walk there.

I really enjoyed the trip. The primary reason for us going was for Will's (slightly) younger brother Alec's high school graduation.

I hadn't met any of Will's family before so it was a very interesting situation. They were all very nice to me and I really enjoyed the mini-vacation.

When we were driving there, I felt like Ren�e Zellweger and Hugh Grant in Bridget Jones' Diary, off to the countryside for a "mini-break" (which seems to be a peculiarly English phrase). During the weekend, whenever Will lit up a cigarette, I kept expecting him to declare, "Oh, fuck me, I love Keats!"

I don't think the fact I am nearly six years older than Will had actually gotten through to Alec until I mentioned I'd graduated high school eight years ago. Alec had to scrape his jaw off the ground after that one. "Yes, I am older than dirt," I announced.

The look on Alec's face when he turned to Will after this is perfectly summarized by the following Star Wars quote: "Where did you dig up that old fossil?" Tee hee.

So Alec got his diploma, I met some very nice people, and all was well.

Yesterday, Will and I decided to go SHOPPING. This is not something we do a lot but it was about damn time. We hit Sci-Fi City, totally geeked out and checked out all the RPG books. I bought two more posters. Since my walls are already covered with Chayan Kho�'s "Cyberrealism" works, I figured two more wouldn't hurt.

Then we hit The Mall. Well, there are really a lot of malls around Orlando, but the closest one, and the only one that contains a store run by a friend of mine, is the Fashion Square mall on Colonial. We went there, checked out the comic book store, poked around the smoke shop and the Chinese store (great furniture there!) and went to Diversions, which sells a lot of Gothic and Industrial sorts of fashions, and other random stuff you don't find anywhere else. It's like Hot Topic with verve and personality. Oh, and friendly help. :) There, I got a black T-shirt with a red cat on it that says HELLCAT on it. I also got a pretty necklace with lots of pretend moonstones all over it. I'm currently wearing that since it is Monday. I made Will try on some club clothes. He was a bit reticent at first but I reminded him that since we mostly just go to Goth nights, he really doesn't need to be self-conscious about being tall, pale, and skinny (does anyone 6'2" REALLY wear a 30-inch waist? my dad wears a 34 at 6'4") but could instead flaunt it.

Anyway, I bought him a pair of patent leather pants. They squeak. *yay* We'll have to try them out at a club night soon.

Then when I checked my mail I found a disconnect notice from the electric company. Yes, the same people I had trouble with last summer. They oh-so-nicely decided they were going to stop taking automatic payments out of my checking account, but neither tell me about it nor send me bills. Gee.


75%

I am 75% worshipable! And you? Find out!


Thanks to peachy for this one:


You're Donatello!
You're introspective and somewhat reserved. Definetely more brain cells than the average turtle, and you're something of a "Mr. Fix-It." You love to invent things, or fix broken stuff. You are quiet and serious, but do have a fun side. Try and let it show more often.
Which Ninja Turtle Are You? Quiz by Irish


Megan the Red Queen

previous - next

My Mood: How 'm I feeling?

My Weather:
Weather at Orlando International Airport









Places to Go:

Diagon Alley Forum
Diagon Alley Main Site
My Amazon Wishlist


the others, regardless of hosting site:





Diaryland